Parliamentarians of the ASEAN Member States agreed to form an ASEAN Parliamentary Meeting (APM) in 1975. They signed the Statutes of the ASEAN Parliamentary Cooperation aimed to promote closer cooperation between parliaments of the ASEAN member states. It was also decide that they will meet annually.

The AIPO Fifth General Assembly convened in Manila, the Philippines in April 1982, discussed the plan to establish the AIPO Permanent Secretariat following a long discussion since 1978 to find location for a permanent secretariat.

Agreement on the Structure of the Organization and Working Procedures of a permanent AIPO Secretariat was reached, included in the agreement was the detailed budget and contribution of each member to support the permanent secretariat.